Solved

PPG example not working

• 28 June 2022
  • 5 replies

I am totally new to OpticStudio, and I am trying to follow the PPG example to get started. However I am encountering this error when try to run the script:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File ".\PPGsimulation.py", line 230, in <module>
    volPhysData.ModelSettings._S_DLLDefinedScattering.MeanPath = meanPath
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'MeanPath'

I am experienced in Python, but don’t know the inside of the API, so it’s difficult for me to debug. I would appreciate if you can give me a pointer.

OpticStudio Pro Ver 22.2
Python 3.8 (Conda environment)
Windows 10 (virtual machine, fresh install)

icon

Best answer by Csilla Timar-Fulep 30 June 2022, 12:21

View original

5 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +2

Hi Hongfeng,

Thanks for your post here on the Community Forums!
I am sorry to hear that you have problems running the PPG application example.

The AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute ' ' type of error usually appears if there is one tool already open, and you are trying to open a second one without closing the previous one. In OpticStudio, and also in the ZOS-API, only one tool can be open at a time. You can workaround this issue by closing the current tool, as suggested in the thread below:
What is this error "Attribute error: object has no attribute…" in the ZOS-API? | Zemax Community

Further troubleshooting steps for Attribute Errors, detailed discussions about how to interact with OpticStudio from the API, and the differences between using Python via COM or .NET connection can be found here:
ZOS-API Python: How to deal with AttributeError and apply the correct enumeration | Zemax Community

Specifically for the PPG example, could you please double-check the path of the file being opened by Python? It should be local and a .ZMX file (not only the .ZAR included in the article).