Skip to main content

Hi all,

Does any one know why calculation of the refractive index vs the temperature is different between the two softwares?

I’m not asking for glasses that have different parameters, (the reason is obvious) but for glasses which have same parameters and ways of calculation. Results are the same across the spectrum but not when the temperature changes.

You can try almost any Schott glasses as parameters are given by the vendor for both softwares.

It’s a bit frustrating. 😀

First, I’m not an expert user of CodeV; However, I checked the reported refractive index for N-BK7 in both Zemax and CodeV at the same wavelength with and without the environmental factors on at the reference temperature for N-BK7 (20 Deg). My assumption is that this value can be checked against the Sellmeier formula used for calculating the index, i.e, that the change in index will be 0 at the reference wavelength. Zemax reports the same index of refraction to arbitrary precision. CodeV deviates. If I change the evaluated temperature by 2 Deg up in CodeV (from 20 Deg to 22 Deg) I can recover the correct answer. I don’t know why CodeV does this or if it is a bug or something subtle in how to implement the reference temperature etc.; however, I do think that Zemax is reliable in this case.

Hi Michael, thanks for having a look at it.

For N-BK7, Zemax is indeed exactly identical for the nominal temperature (20 °C). Code V shows a difference of ≃ 2·10⁻⁶ compared to the computation.

However, when the temperature changes, Zemax deviates much more. @-40 °C it shows a difference of more than 10⁻⁴! Code V is still in the 10⁻⁶ range.

N-BK7

n(2,1 µm/-40 °C) :

1.4929312 (equation)
1.4928285 (Zemax δ ≃ 103·10⁻⁶)
1.4929364 (Code V δ ≃ 5·10⁻⁶)

n(2,1 µm/80 °C) :

1.4930318 (equation)
1.4930981 (Zemax δ ≃ 66·10⁻⁶)
1.4930310 (Code V δ ≃ 1·10⁻⁶)

n(2,1 µm/20 °C) :

1.4929616 (equation)
1.4929616 (Zemax δ = 0)
1.4929640 (Code V δ ≃ 2·10⁻⁶)