Solved

Change the Z position with ZPL

• 24 March 2022
  • 8 replies

Hello all,

I am a student in internship and I need to use ZPL to automate my system. I have a system with LED, which I am optimizing. After this optimization I have to measure the power received on the detector for different Z positions (34 positions).

I do not know how to make a list of my different Z positions, how to change the value of the Z position for my detector and how to retrieve the value of the power received on my detector.

Thank you in advance,

Léo

icon

Best answer by David.Nguyen 24 March 2022, 16:19

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Hi Lea,

It depends what you want to do really.

If you want to stick with OpticStudio only. The NSDD operand can retrieve a single pixel value. Then, you should loop over the number of pixels to retrieve all the pixel values. But, I  personnally don’t find this approach elegant.

The other solution I would rather opt for is to parse the saved text-file with Python/MATLAB. In this way, it is rather easy to remove the header of the text file, if that’s your problem, for example.

Can you let us know what you intend to do with those pixel values and I can try to come up with a more specific answer?

Take care,

David

Hi David,

Thanks for the help. I am able to use GETTEXTFILE to save the detectors text file. But I only want to save the pixel values not the whole text file. How do I do that?

Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Hi Lea,

You probably figured it out already, but for everyone’s refernce, to change the X Position, you can keep using SETNSCPOSITION. However, this time, you would use 1 as the third parameter (1: X Position, 2: Y Position, 3: Z Position, 4: X Tilt, 5: Y Tilt, 6 Z Tilt).

As for the detector image data, it really depends what you want to save. Since I’m not sure what you mean by

all detector data