Skip to main content

Hello,

I am new in OpticsStudio and I am trying to design spectrometer for NIR range (850-1050nm). I would like to keep it simple and cheap. I started with input lens, which focuses the light into the slit (I started with circular slit aperture). Then a "standard" setup is used  - achromatic collimator, gratings and focusing lens. I used achromates as a first try, but I would like to test cheaper planconvex lenses.  I also use aperture in a front of achromatic collimator to decrease stray light and increase spatial resolution (but I am not sure if this helps). I estimated based on some theory, that slit width can be around 100 microns (I need resolution only around 2 nm). It looks OK, but when I change the slit diameter and plot RMS (spot radius) vs. wavelength is rather high. I would also expect that it will change with the change of slit diameter, but it doesn't.

I mainly used this  article: https://support.zemax.com/hc/en-us/articles/1500005578862-How-to-build-a-spectrometer-implementation

My questions are -

1. Does the entire setup make sense?

2. Is the modeling of the slit correct?

3. Why the RMS spot radius is not changing with the slit diameter?

4. Does replacement of last focusing achromates with planconvex lens make sense?

Could you please help me.

Ragards,

Radim

Design
RMS spot for 0,05 diameter

Hello Radim,

the setup looks fine so far. Concerning your questions:

2. Typically, the slit of a grating spectrometer is rectangular instead of round. This is because the spectral resolution (= spot size along the wavelength axis of the IMAGE surface) is almost exclusively affected by the slit width, and the slit height can be controlled independently. The slit height can, for example, be matched to the height of the sensor pixels divided by the magnification of the spectrometer. The slit height is often chosen as large as possible to maximize the light throughput and therefore the signal-to-noise ratio.