Solved

ZOSAPI extention mode - importnotfound error

• 26 February 2024
  • 9 replies

Hello, 

I am very new to ZOSAPI - python programming. I am simply following the article - https://support.zemax.com/hc/en-us/articles/1500005489681-Connect-to-OpticStudio-from-Python-with-the-ZOS-API-Interactive-Extension

I am using pycharm IDE and running pythonZOSconnection6.py from it (as suggested, in running this in python console). Upto this point, everything seems to be working fine. I see the prompt in optics studio (given below) with the status : connected. 

OpticsStudio Connection made 

All the variable are also loaded : 

Variables Defined

However, I don’t see this feature “It means that there is an “Intellisense” when working with the Interactive Extension” .

Missing Intellisense

That is, none of the methods of ZOSAPI are loaded. And if I try running the example code (as suggested in the article), I am getting an error, “ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'ZOSAPI'” . 

ModuleNotFound Error

I have already installed Pythonnet package, which helped to make the first connection with optics studio. But I don’t understand why a script other than the boilerplate won’t work.

I hope this is an easy mistake to fix. 

icon

Best answer by David.Nguyen 28 February 2024, 14:22

View original

9 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge

Hi @nc9289,

Can you share the code you are trying to run? Otherwise we need to make assumptions about your code, and chances are those assumptions will be incorrect.

If you're getting started with Python and the ZOS-API, I recommend trying ZOSPy, an open source Python library that simplifies the interaction with the ZOS-API. This library also takes care of loading the ZOS-API DLLs, so you don't have to. The documentation also contains examples that explain how to model certain optical systems, for example a simple thick lens.

Hi @chaasjes 

Thanks for the reply.