Solved

Run python code from macro and get output variables to OS macro

Hi, 

I would like to run a python script from a macro (could be a python executable), then get some of the outputed values in the macro. Then I would like to write this values in a merit function from the macro.

Is there a simple way to do it or some starting code?

Thanks,

Jose

icon

Best answer by David.Nguyen 17 June 2021, 18:49

View original

18 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Hi Jose,

Is there a particular reason you want the Python code to execute from the macro? Cause, in my mind, the most straight-forward way is perhaps to create a standalone ZOS-API application, such that OpticStudio runs within your Python code.

Otherwise, you might want to have a read at that article from Michael Humphreys.

Take care,

David

Hi David, 

Thank you for your swift reply. I am new to the Python-Zemax ZOS-API so it might be better to do a standalone as you suggest, also in the long run. I have already written some code in the Zemax macro, so I thought I would need to learn fewer new commands using the inherent mode .

I also thought that in the specific case of what I want to do, it would be more compact: 

1. The macro runs the POP for different configurations and saves the data

2. It calls Python to perform calculations with the saved data and imports some output variables from Python

3. It uploads the values to a merit function

4. This macro will be used also for tolerancing with merit function . The merit function will call the script. 

I would appreciate also recommendations of articles or starting code with the standalone application. 

Cheers,

Jose

Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Hi Jose,

In my personal opinion, ZOS-API is the way forward. The learning curve is steeper, but I think its worth the time thanks to the possibilities offered by the Python environment, or any other ZOS-API langage.