Solved

Preferred method to uninstall older OpticStudio versions ?

  • 19 December 2023
  • 6 replies
  • 90 views

Userlevel 1

Had a previously installed Ansys OpticStudio 2023 R1.02.

Installed Ansys OpticStudio 2023 R2.02 did not prompt for removal of previous version.

Now I have two versions of OpticStudio on my system and I would only like to keep only the latest version. Is there a preferred/recommended method (clean way) to uninstall OpticStudio which will remove all the traces and leftovers (folders, temp files, etc.)? 

Thanks

icon

Best answer by Don Dickinson 19 December 2023, 19:08

View original

6 replies

Userlevel 3
Badge

Hello! 

Yes, the normal behavior is to install new version in a new folder. There is no separate cleanup option.

The best thing at this point is to uninstall both versions and then reinstall the latest one which will ensure all file associations are correct. 

In future when upgrading, uninstall the previous version before installing the new one. That way you only have one version installed and it will work properly.

 

 

Userlevel 1

Thank you, Don. 

And zemax installation does not come with a uninstaller.exe. So, do I have to use the Windows → Add /Remove programs to uninstall the Ansys OpticStudio ?

 

Thanks

Userlevel 3
Badge

Greetings!

 

Yes, go to add /remove programs or Apps and features in the control panel. 

 

Userlevel 3
Badge +1

Hi @Don Dickinson,

A colleague has Ansys Zemax 1.02 and 1.03 installed on his machine, and when opening a file from windows explorer, the priority seems to be given to version 1.02. Even right clicking on the file, then selecting the 1.03 application from “open with” it will still open in 1.02. Is this normal?

Thanks

Userlevel 3
Badge

Hello!

I have never had anyone try to manually set the associations so not sure if this is normal. The OpticStudio version installed most recently becomes the default to open files so if you want to default to 1.03, uninstall 1.03 and reinstall it.

 

 

Userlevel 7
Badge +3

Hey Don,

May I make a suggestion?

The behavior of the installer hasn’t changed much from the days when ‘Zemax’ was delivered on two floppy disks in the mail, and specifying the installation directory was all you had to do. Given the size of the installer now, and how much more dependent it is on frameworks and the like it should maybe offer the option to remove previous installs. I know my hard drive is full of previous versions I did not intentionally archive.

I guess my point is, don’t feel the need to keep the installer defaults the same as when Ken first set it up.

  • Mark

Reply