Solved

tilted mirror with aperture

• 17 March 2022
  • 4 replies

Hi,

Before asking my question I anticipate I started working with OpticStudio only few weeks ago so I am a newbie with it. 

I need to create a concave and a flat mirror (but I guess the solution is the same) having a circular aperture in the center (or in a decentrered position).

In sequential mode, I created (successfully) two tilted curved mirrors producing their image on a plane,  but now I need to place an aperture in the first one without changing anything else.

I tried to modify the first mirror switching it in non-sequential mode and creating a group composed by the mirror and inside it, as second element, a standard surface (same position and curvature as the mirror) but although this solution seems to work as expected I cannot tilt it. So I wonder which is the best approach to solve this problem.

Thank you very much for any tips you can provide me

icon

Best answer by David.Nguyen 18 March 2022, 14:20

View original

4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Hi Almax,

I’m not entirely sure what you’d like to do, but in Sequential mode, you can setup apertures on your surfaces. To do so, you can double-click on the surface of interest, which will open its properties, and go to the Aperture tab. You can then choose Aperture Type: Circular Aperture and adjust the Minimum RadiusMaximum Radius, Aperture X-Decenter, and Aperture Y-Decenter.

In Non-Sequential mode, you should be able to tilt the assembly you described. It is a good idea to overlap the standard surface with a cylinder volume (nested rule) to create the aperture as this will give among the fastest results with raytracing. The trick is perhaps to use the Ref Object column and a dummy (Null) object. I’m showing an example below:

By referencing the cylinder to the surface and the surface to the null object you can apply a tilt by simply changing the value of the Tilt About… columns.