Question

lens magnifier effect simulation

• 2 November 2023
  • 4 replies

Hi,

I have little experience with zemax, but I’m working on something for which I guess zemax can help. A positive lens acts as a magnifier when the object is placed within its focal lenght distance. In this case no real image is generated, rather a virtual one. In systems like watchmakers loupe, the user places the eye near the lens in order to see a magnified rendering of the object. I’m interested in evaluating how the magnification perceived by the eye varies as the object position varies or when the object position is fixed and the focal length of the magnifier varies. What would be the best model setting up to make such a study? Thank you for any help you can provide. 

4 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +4

Hi Piero,

This can be done by tracing rays from a real object height through the lens to the eye. The eye acts as the system aperture stop, just as it does in reality. The lens has bent the rays so that they arrive at the eye as though diverging from a magnified object at a more distant location. The rays striking the eye are back traced using a negative distance to a virtual image plane. 

In the attached file, a single off axis field point is used for clarity. The lens is a paraxial lens, which could of course be replace with a practical lens. The distance to the virtual image is set with a marginal ray height solve to force the image plane to the focus. A PMAG (paraxial magnification) operand in the merit function is used to measure the magnification.

Hi David, 

thank you very much for your replay and the file. It looks a very good approach to me. Thanks again.

Kind regards

Piero

Userlevel 6
Badge +4

You are very welcome, Piero.