Field Profile (POP) Not Matching with Experiment

• 29 December 2021
  • 11 replies

Hello Reader, 

I’m a beginner in using Zemax and would appreciate assistance to resolve an issue of the field
profile obtained using Zemax not matching with what we see in the laboratory. 

The setup is very simple: light exits a fiber (with mode field diameter ~ 5.3 mu-m) and passes through two lenses -- with focal lengths +30 mm and -20 mm (the intention is to test beam-size reduction). [This tutorial was adapted to follow the beam’s path in the ‘Cross-section’ window: Single-mode fiber coupling in OpticStudio – Knowledgebase (zemax.com)]

Experimentally, the field profile after the second lens (-20 mm) is perhaps spherically aberrated and is circularly symmetric. It doesn’t quite seem to match the output of the POP (Physical Optics Propagation) module in Zemax. A .png file showing the disparity and the .zmx/.zar files are attached in the .zip file below. 

Thanks a lot for your time, 
Sai

11 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +3

I took a look at your model and don’t see anything particularly unusual with the POP results.  First, I modified the aperture to have an  object space NA of 0.15, but that doesn’t make any difference in this particular case (just shows a somewhat more accurate version of the beam on the layout).

Then set up and run POP to look at the beam 15 mm after the second lens.

The beam profile looks like it remains very Gaussian.

However,  I note the comment on the source fiber surface says HCF_Output.  Is this a hollow-core fiber?  If so, it may not be accurately modeled by a simple Gaussian.

Thanks a lot for the response!

i) In the POP settings window you shared, are the units correctly taken? I think the Lens Units are in ‘mm’; so the waist should be 2.65 mu-m = 0.00265 mm, correct?

ii) My apologies for the comment. Although the note tags it as ‘HCF Output’, the experiment used an SMF. The intention for the lens design was for a hollow-core fiber. 

Userlevel 7