Comparison of custom dll surface and CAD lens

• 17 June 2021
  • 3 replies

Hi all! 

I have done user defined dll surface and want to check its accuracy. For this, I did a lens with such surface on one side and plane on the other in SolidWorks and opened it like .STEP file as a non-sequential component. In the second Zemax file, I opened my user-defined dll. All dimensions, apertures the same. Also, I can see that rays go through the lens in almost the same way. Spot diagrams look very similar. But I want to compare the wavefront map and here I have a huge difference also ray fan very different and I cant understand the reason. It's my first time with non-sequential mode, maybe someone can help me with good advice? Thank you a lot 

dll.pngsolid.png

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +2

Hi Marta,

I agree with Andrew. In addition, if I understood correctly, you are comparing your DLL, with a non-sequential STEP file. In this case, you might also want to check the Chord Tolerance, and Maximum edge length in the CAD tab of the non-sequential STEP properties. Those parameters determine the accuracy at which your STEP is rendered in OpticStudio, but it is also used as a starting point to determine the real ray intercept with the surface of this object. I'm not certain it will apply to your surface, but it can give slightly different results depending on the geometry of the object.

Lastly, you could also try to export the surface sag of your DLL, try to fit it with your surface model (with Python or MATLAB), and measure the RMSE for example.

I hope this helps.

Take care,

David

Userlevel 2
Badge